Candidates for the LGBTOUT Centre Winter 2013 Election

Candidate Statements for LGBTOUT Centre elections 2013

Below are the candidate statements for those running for a position in the upcoming elections.

Administrative Coordinator (1 candidate)

 

DYLAN CHAUVIN-SMITH

 

My name is Dylan Chauvin-Smith and I am running for Administrative Coordinator in the 2013-2014 LGBTOUT Centre Election. After a year on the executive committee filling the role of University Affairs Coordinator, I believe I have acquired the skills and knowledge necessary to fulfill the administrative duties of the LGBTOUT Centre for Queer, Questioning and Allied Students.

During my tenure as University Affairs Coordinator I have encouraged our executive team to work more collectively and I hope to continue emphasizing the power of cooperation if re-elected. My collaborative spirit has been put to good use while working with the Sexual and Gender Diversity Office, Que(e)rying Religion, and the Trans Film Screening Series. I also had the opportunity to work for the University of Toronto Students’ Union for two semesters as the Associate Vice President Campus Life responsible for events. In that capacity I helped to organize the UTSU Pride Picnic as part of U of T’s Pride 2012 celebrations, and contributed to the planning and execution of various other campaigns and events.

One of my main goals for the 2013-2014 year is to help prepare the LGBTOUT Centre for a levy bid. Securing a per student levy for the LGBTOUT Centre has been a long term objective of this organization and would increase our capacity to build community programming, provide peer to peer support, and advocate for queer, questioning and allied students at the St. George campus.

I first got involved at LGBTOUT to give back to a community that made me feel welcome and helped me grow as a person. Please consider me for the position of Administrative Coordinator so that I may continue to do so.

Event Coordinator (2 candidates)

 

ADAM WATKINS

My name is Adam Watkins and I would like to run for LGBTOUT’s position as Event Coordinator. I would like to organize more events next year to help better foster a united and inclusive LGBT community at the University. I understand that the budget is probably the biggest issue with planning events, my ideas would be simple and cost effective. I love the idea of movie nights and planned my first one for LGBTOUT this month. I would like events to happen about once a month, with the majority of them being socials with themes that incur no extra cost to LGBTOUT. Things like Stop Light parties (where singles wear green, people who are taken wear yellow and people in relationships wear red) are simple themes that are free but make the event even more interesting. Game nights and trivia nights would also be fun ideas to implement. In addition, I would also like to make sure the members of LGBTOUT (volunteers and executives) get to know each other by planning social outings. I used to help plan and organize many events in high school (the biggest one being Prom). I plan to organize two more events before the end of this year (a games night and helping out with the next Homohop) to find out what works and what doesn’t. I am very independent, driven and excited to provide these opportunities for students. I believe that holding more events and advertising them well would help students feel more comfortable with themselves and improve their experience at the University.

ROCHELLE MATHER

Hi, my name is Rochelle and I am a second year Sexual Diversity Studies and Peace and Conflict Studies major running for the position of Events Coordinator. This past year, I was elected as one of the 3 Executive Members-at-Large and focused heavily on the Social and Events portfolio, including taking the lead in planning this year’s Queer Ball and the most recent Meet n’ Greet.

If elected, I hope to ensure LGBTOUT signature events such as the Homohop, Meet n’ Greet and Queer Ball are a well-planned and advertised effectively. For the Homohop, I would like to ensure that the event occurs several times a year and is hosted in an all-ages and accessible space. For the Meet n’ Greets, I would like to ensure they continue to be hosted throughout the year, but also to ensure that the event facilitates meeting new people and attracting members of the women and trans communities to feel more welcome at the event.

It is every executive’s responsibility to create safe(r) spaces and inclusive environments. As Social Coordinator, I hope to host more events, with more variety and with more volunteers and perspectives at the planning table. This includes hosting smaller and more reoccurring events such as summer picnics and movie nights; reintroducing former events such as the Dyke Pub Night and Bisexual, Bicurious, Questioning BBQ; and introducing new events suggested by volunteers and general members.

This is just a small piece of my vision for LGBTOUT, and I hope to have you involved in implementing and expanding it. I am passionate, dedicated and eager to make LGBTOUT more prominent and accessible to UofT students. Through successful events, we can engage more students in facilitating safe(r) spaces, promoting social justice and becoming active agents for change.

Financial Coordinator (1 candidate)

HARDEEP SINGH

 

My name is Hardeep Singh and I am in my second year of Chemical Engineering degree. This year I really started getting involved with LGBTOUT centre. I consider myself a member in good standing since I have attended most of the events organized by this club during the academic year 2012-2013 and have been present at most of the meetings. I am very passionate about using my skills and abilities for common good and somehow make a difference out in the real world. I believe that LGBTOUT centre offers me a great opportunity to realize this dream.

LGBTOUT centre has a diverse set of unique positions to offer. I am really interested in the position of Financial Coordinator. I am a very detail-oriented, organized and thorough person with some polished management skills. My previous volunteer experiences which include, but are not restricted to, event planning and management and board of directors’ membership have made me proficient in thinking things to the microscopic levels and make decisions which respect the opinions and interests of almost everybody. In addition, being an Engineering student I have had past experiences of drafting budgets for semester-long engineering team projects and gained some modest mathematical skills which will come very handy for this position.

As a Financial coordinator I will also get a chance to provide direct input and feedback to all the members on the executive team for the event/projects that they would be organizing, since I will be approving their individual budgets. Therefore, I will be able to make relevant contributions on the whole as well.

Conclusively, I am a dedicated person who is really motivated for this position due to my passion for making contributions to the LGBTQ community.

Public Relations Coordinator (1 candidate)

 

COREY SCOTT

 

My name is Corey Scott and I am in my final year of a double major in Sociology and Equity Studies and hoping to be LGBTOUT’s next Public Affairs Coordinator. As the current Vice-President Internal and Services at the University of Toronto Students’ Union I have had the opportunity to develop a communications and public relations plan that advertised ongoing events, services and campaigns. This experience has also given me the opportunity to develop skills in graphic design, media relations, outreach and volunteer recruitment through engaging social media.

As a former LGBTOUT Homohop and Internal Coordinator, it would be a privilege to continue working with LGBTOUT to ensure a progressive queer and trans voice is present at the UofT, and that the organization is taking a proactive stance on creating safe(r) spaces and tackling homophobia, transphobia and all forms of oppression. In this role I plan to ensure LGBTOUT is present in every college and faculty, working in conjunction with relevant campus groups. I hope to also ensure that students are actively engaged in participating in the development of LGBTOUT activities rather than just attending. Finally, I hope to work with a team of volunteers to develop a consistent newsletter, active blog and a student-run publication. I hope to be elected as LGBTOUT’s Public Relations Coordinator to ensure this mandate is met so that all students can feel comfortable on campus.

Resources Coordinator (1 candidate)

 

My name is Ryan Degen and I am currently the LGBTOUT Centre’s Public Affairs Coordinator. This year, however, I hope to secure your vote to become Resource Coordinator.

For the past four years I have been involved with the LGBTOUT Centre: from 2009 to 2012 a Centre Volunteer, and from 2012 to 2013 I have been lucky enough to serve as a member of the Executive. Although I was primarily responsible for LGBTOUT’s media and public image this year, I also took it upon myself to organize and update a number of our resources. Apart from my almost obsessive compulsive need to organize things, I am confident that I am the best candidate for Resource Coordinator simply because I know what resources we have, I know how to use them and incorporate them into training, and I know what resources we need.

LGBTOUT has recently changed its name to the LGBTOUT Centre. For anyone who has read the new constitution, it is obvious that as an organization, LGBTOUT is shifting to a more Centre-centric module. During my three years as a Drop-In Centre Volunteer, one of the biggest gaps in the Centre’s training and operation was simply from a lack of up to date resources in certain areas, and a lack of training on how to use them.

If elected I will not only continue to update our resources, but I will make sure next year’s volunteers are trained on how to use them.

In the event I do not get elected, I would like everyone to know that I intend to continue volunteering with the organization, most likely as a Drop-In Centre volunteer. LGBTOUT has been wonderful to and for me, and I’m not ready to leave it yet.

Please consider Ryan Degen for your 2013 to 2014 Resource Coordinator.

Space Coordinator (2 candidates)

SOPHIA SPINA

 

Hello there! My name is Sophia Spina and I would like to declare my intent to run for Space Coordinator. As someone familiar with the drop-in space, I feel I can efficiently manage and maintain the two spaces, in consultation with the rest of the executive on such topics related to the regular maintenance of said spaces. I believe I am not only eligible to run for election due to being a volunteer at the drop-in centre this winter term, but am best suited, as my attendance at various events and interaction with the volunteers and executive of the LGBTOUT Centre establish myself as a member in good standing, as well as a member consistently active in the community. I think constant surveillance of the two spaces as well as a healthy relationship with all involved is key to our new functions as we strive to regroup ourselves around our space; finally, as someone entering third year, I also have the resources to devote to this duty, as well as enough experience to prove myself competent.

PATRICK ORMONDE

I am Patrick Ormonde, and I am currently a first-year student and an active member in LGBTOUT. It is my intention to be considered a potential candidate for the Space Co-ordinator position on the executive committee. As a member of good standing, I have attended many meetings and events in regards to the club. I think that it is important to be social and immerse oneself in the University of Toronto’s LGBTTQ community. With my diplomatic attitude and calm disposition, I can serve as both a mediator, and an ambassador of the club.

With my candidacy, I will present new and fresh ideas to the club. As LGBTOUT represents the queer community of the university, it is not enough to be present. Rather it is essential for the club to be innovative. The University of Toronto is a very unique environment with 3 sprawling campus. What the club needs is more mass appeal. There should be spaces that offer students the chance to engage in discourse from multiple disciplines, different sexual orientations, and backgrounds. However, the only space that provides a communal environment for discourse is the UC Commuter lounge. This lounge area is not well known as a LGBTOUT space. I have heard of this space through a LGBOUT meeting. Many of our members have part-time jobs and hectic schedules, and we need to accommodate space for that fact.

Thus, we need space that can come to them, rather than a fixed isolated space in the middle of a large downtown campus. I am proposing, that with my candidacy, the club will transcend the cliques and geographic imaginaries that exist within the University. Space is the organizer of people, therefore why not use multiple communal spaces within the university to allow for the commingling of people.

Thank you for your consideration.

Training Coordinator (No candidates)

Volunteer Coordinator (1 candidate)

 

CATHIE RENNER

Hello, my name is Cathie Renner and I’m seeking election to the Volunteer Coordinator position. I am a second year student taking American Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies.

During my first year I was a volunteer, presently I am an Executive-At-Large for LGBTOUT and since January I have also been working with Natalie as Coordinator of the Drop-In Centre. I believe this experience and my qualifications as a former social worker, a parent and mature student I offer a unique perspective to this role.

My vision for the 2013/14 academic year is simple. I wish to continue to uphold the Centre’s status as a safe space and the focal point on campus for the LGBTQ community. The Centre remains an exceptional feature of life at the U of T and my role would be to find, encourage and support a group of volunteers dedicated to offering a friendly, inclusive and sympathetic peer counselling service while maintaining that uniqueness. It is essential that the LGBTOUT Centre retains this reputation, but I am also keenly aware that there is a need for a safe environment for socializing. Since January, I have worked to keep a balance between the two interests, and I am committed to maintaining and expanding these roles.

I am also interested in seeing greater interaction between the executive and the volunteers, and I will encourage volunteers who are interested in creating social gatherings, developing ideas for education or working with the Exec to create something bigger. I think it is vital that LGBTOUT Centre work as a whole group.

Having been in this position for a few months, I am perfectly aware of the commitment I would be making and I am able to work to the best of my ability to keep the Centre ticking works well for both the people who need to use the facility and the volunteers.

Leave a Reply

